Returning from the Ghost Pile


 

Tree of Stars/acrylic on gloss plate-visual erasure.  "The future enters into us, in order to transform itself..."  --Rainer Maria Rilke

Tree of Stars/acrylic on gloss plate-visual erasure.
“The future enters into us, in order to transform itself…” Rainer Maria Rilke

I’ve been away for a long time. What makes that absence kind of strange is that I have a pile of writing, and specifically blog posts–those essaying conversations–never to see the light of day. I wrote them, but didn’t post them, instead creating a kind of ghost file/pile on my desktop.

I can explain, but the narrative of that explanation wouldn’t be particularly interesting. Life and its components—time, energy, and material demands obliging the use of time and energy—can place many seemingly essential pursuits squarely beside the point, negotiable as ballast.  That right there is probably more than enough information about what could take someone who loves their blog like a piece of chocolate cake away from posting for more than a year.

And I do love my blog, cakishly. I love the galleries, the comments, the assortments of photos and art pieces I’ve made for metopen. I appreciated (maybe not enough) how each post would drive me to create something new, both written and visual.

So I’m returning, or rather my blog is returning.  Please consider the missing months more of an interregnum than a lapse, during which time I have come into possession of a new set of experiences and reflections to feed the keys. Metopen is back from the ghost pile just in time for the lovely, long dark of fall.

About metonymicalpen

I earned an M.F.A. from Goddard College in 2013. Since then, my work has received the 2013 Beacon Street Prize in Short Fiction and the 2014 John Steinbeck Short Fiction Award. My stories have appeared in REED, reDivider, The Concho River Review, Sou'wester, Moon City Review, and elsewhere. Currently, I live in the desert with my family , but I am trying to move us closer to water. We need an ocean to float all of our ideas.
This entry was posted in blogs, creative process, creative writing, demiurge, erasures, inspiration, process, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Returning from the Ghost Pile

  1. judiwth says:

    Only truly unselfish people allow “essential pursuits…” to become “…negotiable as ballast.”

Leave a comment